• School Attendance → On Time and Present to School Everyday!

    Showing Up to Level Up in Plano ISD

  • Truancy Prevention

    The truancy prevention program helps parents and students learn and understand more about truancy and the impact it has on student education. The Plano Independent School District is committed to assisting all of our students in reaching their educational potential and becoming productive citizens.  Plano ISD believes that staff, parents, and students must work together to ensure students attend school every day.


  • Truancy Warning Notice

    Truancy Warning Notice - English

    Truancy Warning Notice - Spanish

  • Texas Compulsory Attendance Laws

    Texas requires a child who is at least 6 years of age, or who is younger than 6 years of age and has previously been enrolled in first grade, and who has not yet reached his/her 19th birthday to attend school unless exempt by Sec. 25.086. Upon enrollment in pre-kindergarten or kindergarten, a child shall attend school. A person who voluntarily enrolls in school or voluntarily attends school after the person’s 19th birthday shall attend school each school day for the entire period the program of instruction is offered and is subject to the same requirements for compulsory attendance for students under 19 years of age .TEC Sections 25.085, 25.086.

    A parent/guardian commits an offense of Parent Contributing to Non –Attendance under TEC Sec. 25.093, if, after having been warned in writing, a child has unexcused voluntary absences from school on 10 or more days or parts of days within a 6-month period . An offense under the Subsection (a) is a misdemeanor, punishable by fine only, in an amount not to exceed:

    1. $100.00 for a first offense
    2. $200.00 for a second offense
    3. $300.00 for a third offense
    4. $400.00 for a fourth offense
    5. $500.00 for a fifth or subsequent offense. TEC 25.093/Family Code 65.003(a)

    View full Compulsory Attendance policy on Board Policy Manual website

  • Tardy

    (TEX. EDUC. CODE §25.093 and FAMILY CODE 65.003)

    Tardies are considered “parts of days”. 

    Tardies Are Unexcused

    Tardies are generally considered unexcused except for doctor/dentist appointments, as outlined herein.

    Tardies are not converted to unexcused absences onto report cards or onto official attendance records. 

  • Attendance/Student Absences

    Student absences should be limited and make-up or remedial work will be required from students with absences. Any student not already exempted from the compulsory attendance law may nevertheless be excused for temporary absence resulting from any cause acceptable to the superintendent or to the teacher or principal of the school in which the student is enrolled. A student who is absent from school for any portion of a school day must provide a note that describes the reason for the absence. The note must be signed by the student’s parent/guardian or by the student, if the student is 18 or older or is an emancipated minor. Failure to bring a written excuse signed by the parent or guardian within three school days of an absence may result in an unexcused absence being recorded. Elementary students will be counted absent after 9:00 a.m. The official attendance period for secondary students (middle, high school and senior high) is second period. FEB (REGULATION). If a student is temporarily absent due to an appointment with a health care professional and the student commences classes or returns to school on the same day of the appointment, the student will not be counted absent. The student must present to the school office a statement signed by the health care professional verifying the appointment.

    View full Attendance Accounting policy on Board Policy Manual website

    Absences such as vacations and trips (except those excused by the principal for unusual circumstances), babysitting, working (including modeling), non-school sponsored athletic events and programs shall be considered unexcused. In order for a student to make up and receive credit for work assigned during an unexcused absence, the student must submit one week in advance a written notification of the planned absence to the principal. When no prior notification is given, students may receive a zero for all work assigned during the absence. POLICIES EIAB and FEA (LEGAL/LOCAL), and FEB (LEGAL/LOCAL).


  • Make-Up Work

    Make-up assignments or tests shall be made available to students after any absence except unexcused absences not requested in advance. It is the student’s responsibility to find out the assignments and make up the work within the period of time designated by the teacher or principal. Teachers shall inform their students of the amount of time allotted for completing make-up work after an absence; however, the student shall be responsible for obtaining and completing the make-up assignments in a satisfactory manner within the allotted amount of time. Students may receive credit for satisfactory make-up work after an absence, including absences as a result of suspension, but may receive a zero for any assignment or test not made up within the allotted time. Teacher(s) may assign additional work to ensure students who have been absent have sufficient opportunity to master the essential knowledge and skills or to meet subject or course requirements. The assignments shall be based on the instructional objectives for the subject or course and may provide greater depth of subject matter than routine make-up work. Make-up work may be requested on the third day of student absence. POLICY EIAB (LOCAL).

    View full make-up policy on Board Policy Manual website

  • Parent Portal - Check Grades/Attendance

    Parent Portal Website

  • Contacts
    Family and Social Services Department
    1517 Avenue H
    Plano, Texas 75074